Knitting and art

paton-chunky-tweed

My first post described the similarities between knitting and creating a painting.  The act of knitting also helps in the thinking process that goes into the initial phases of a painting, at least for me.  To begin a painting usually entails 3 elements: reading, imagery, and thinking.  These three components, then, swirl in my mind/brain during a ‘percolation’ phase, which can last a few days to months.  Then, I get the ‘aha’ moment, and I know how I want the new painting to be.

So, how does knitting fit into the ‘percolation’ phase of a painting?      

The quietness of knitting, the background noise of a low-volumed TV, repetiveness of knitting and purling, and the relaxed state of mind relaxes the entire physical body.  It’s as if the body is breathing a big, long and deep sigh – ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.  Knitting is soothing for the mind, body, spirit and emotions.  And that is what I need, i.e., a relaxed state, to think about starting a painting.  At the moment, my mind and brain is in the ‘percolation’ phase of a new painting, so check back soon.  In the-mean-time, join me at my other blog Creativity in Healthcare and website Marti Hand.com – see you there!

Btw, the yarn in the serving bowl is Paton’s Chunky Tweed, and this is what I’m having for dinner tonight 🙂 – Yummy~

One Response

  1. 🙂 I can totally relate to what you’re saying, about the body relaxing with knitting. I recently began doing yoga, but find it relaxes my body but empties my mind where as knitting also relaxes my body but gets my imagination going.

Leave a Reply

